National Park Quarters Now a Reality

H.R. 6184 America’s Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act of 2008 was signed into law on December 23, 2008. This will create a new series of National Park Quarters to follow the 50 State Quarters Program and Washington DC & US Territories Quarters Program.

The new series would feature at least 56 quarters with designs emblemnatic of a National Park or National Site in each of the 50 States, plus Washington DC and the US Territories. The quarters would be released at a rate of five per year in the order that each park or site was designated. This will give the new program a duration of at least 11 years. In the ninth year of the program, the Secretary of the Treasury has the option to expand the program for a second round of designs, bringing the program duration to 22 years.

The bill also provides for the production of oversized silver repliacs of each National Park Quarter. These replicas would be 3 inches in diameter, contain 5 ounces of .999 silver, and have incused edge lettering. The replicas would carry the 25 cent denomination.

There have been some mixed opinions on another long series of “new State Quarters.” Since 1999, there have been an endless parade of series redesigns which all utilize the concept of a rotating reverse design. Unfortunately, it looks like constantly changing coin designs are becoming the norm rather than the exception.

The first National Park Quarters will be released in 2010.


There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment