Chester A. Arthur Featured on Presidential $1 Coin

President Chester A. Arthur was our 21st President. He was the second President to ascend to the office after the assassination of his predecessor, in this case, President Garfield. Most of the existing Cabinet secretaries left in the first months of his Presidency, due to conflicts in ideology. His time in office oversaw the creation of the Civil Service Administration, as well as balancing the federal budget after a surplus was incurred after the Civil War.

The coin bearing President Arthur’ image is the twenty-first in the series of Presidential Dollar coins, and the first to be issued in 2012. Its obverse depicts Arthur, his time in office (1881-1885), order of the Presidency, and the motto “In God We Trust”. The reverse shows the Statue of Liberty in the same design as been depicted on all Presidential dollars. The edge has the motto “E PLURIBUS UNUM”, the year of issuance, and the mint mark.

The Chester A. Arthur Presidential Dollar will be released on February 16, 2012. This Presidential Dollar coin is the first to be issued under the Treasury Department’s suspension of production of the coin for circulation. The coins will be available from the U.S. Mint in the following products:

  • in Presidential Dollar Rolls of 25 coins, bags of 100 coins, or in boxes of 250 or 500 coins from either the Philadelphia or Denver mints
  • as part of the 2012 Presidential Dollar Proof Set
  • as part of the 2012 Presidential $1 Uncirculated Set
  • as part of the 2012 Presidential $1 Coin Five-Coin Set
  • as part of the 2012 Uncirculated Mint Set
  • as part of the 2012 Proof Set
  • as part of the 2012 Silver Proof Set
  • 2012 Presidential $1 Coin & First Spouse Medal Set
  • 2012 Chester A. Arthur $1 coin cover

Visit for current prices and to order, as well as calling 800-USA-MINT (872-6468).


There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment