2011 Presidential Dollars

The designs for the 2011 Presidential Dollars have been announced by the US Mint. Following the format of the series, the obverse of each coin will feature a portrait of the President, while the reverse will feature a representation of the concept of Liberty.

The Presidents honored next year will be the 17th to 20th Presidents. The series has included four different designs each year since 2007. The series will continue until each of the deceased Presidents have been honored.

The Andrew Johnson Presidential Dollar was designed and sculpted by Don Everhart.

The coin for the Civil War military commander and two term President, Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Dollar was also designed and sculpted by Everhart. Likely the highlight, or most well known release for the year.

Honoring the 19th President of the United States, the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Dollar will be released third during the year. Once again, the design and sculpting work was performed by Don Everhart.

The last release of the year for the series will be the James A. Garfield Presidential Dollar. He served as President for the second shortest term before an assassin’s bullet eventually led to his demise. The obverse design and sculpting was performed by Phebe Hemphill.


There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment