Entries from November 2009 ↓

2009 Zachary Taylor Dollar Released

On November 19, the final Presidential Dollar coin of 2009 was released. This coin honors the 12th President Zachary Taylor. The coin release also marked the start of sales for the US Mint’s Philadelphia and Denver Mint 25-coin rolls. These rolls come in specially prepared wrappers and contain uncirculated coins.

Zachary Taylor Dollar

The obverse of the Zachary Taylor Dollar features a portrait of the President and inscriptions with his name, order of presidency, dates of his presidential term, and the motto “In God We Trust”. The reverse features the Statue of Liberty and inscriptions “United States of America” and the denomination as “$1”. The coin was designed and sculpted by Don Everhart.

Five days later on November 24, the US Mint hosted the official launch ceremony for the coin. This was held in Taylor Park in Orange, Virginia. The ceremony coincided with the 225th anniversary of Zachary Taylor’s birth and was part of Zachary Taylor Appreciation Day. A ceremonial coin pour took place along with special performances.

2010 Lincoln Penny

The US Mint recently announced the reverse design that will be used on the one cent coin starting in 2010. Following the four different reverses of 2009, a final new reverse design will represent Lincoln’s legacy. Under the authorizing legislation, the design is emblemaic of Lincoln’s preservation of the United States of America as a single and united country.

2010 Lincoln PennyThe new design features the union shield. This is composed of thirteen stripes running vertically to represent the original thirteen states. A single bar runs horizontally to represent the states joined as a single union. This shield was used as early as the 1780’s and saw renewed usage during the Civil War.

Inscriptions on the reverse include the denomination “ONE CENT” written on a scroll placed over the shield, “E PLURIBUS UNUM” on the horizontal bar, and “UNITED STATES OF AMERICA” above the shield. The reverse was designed by Lyndall Bass and sculpted by Joseph Menna.

This design will be paired with the portrait of Lincoln for the obverse of the coin. This obverse was designed by Victor D. Brenner and has been used since 1909.

The new designs will appear on the 2010 Lincoln Penny and are expected to be used as a static design for the one cent coin into the foreseeable future.

2009 Presidency Lincoln Cent Released Tomorrow

The fourth and final 2009 Lincoln Cent design will be released by the United States Mint tomorrow. This will conclude the four different designs issued to celebrate Lincoln’s bicentennial. The first three designs represented his birthplace and childhood, formative years, and professional life. The latest design represents his Presidency in Washington DC.

Presidency Penny

The fourth design features a view of the half completed United States Capitol building. It is meant to symbolize a nation torn apart by civil war and Lincoln’s resolve in guiding the country through it. This was designed by Susan Gamble and sculpted by Josephn F. Menna.

To mark the event, the US Mint will hold an official launch ceremony at the Ulysses S. Grant Memorial followed by a coin exchange. They will also use the event to announce the design for the upcoming 2010 Lincoln Cent, which will represent Lincoln’s preservation of the United States of America as a single and united country.

The same day, the US Mint will also offer the two roll set for the Presidency design. This set will feature one 50-coin roll from the Philadlephia Mint and one 50-coin roll from the Denver Mint. These will be in custom design wrappers and available for sale at $8.95.