2009 Zachary Taylor Dollar Released

On November 19, the final Presidential Dollar coin of 2009 was released. This coin honors the 12th President Zachary Taylor. The coin release also marked the start of sales for the US Mint’s Philadelphia and Denver Mint 25-coin rolls. These rolls come in specially prepared wrappers and contain uncirculated coins.

Zachary Taylor Dollar

The obverse of the Zachary Taylor Dollar features a portrait of the President and inscriptions with his name, order of presidency, dates of his presidential term, and the motto “In God We Trust”. The reverse features the Statue of Liberty and inscriptions “United States of America” and the denomination as “$1”. The coin was designed and sculpted by Don Everhart.

Five days later on November 24, the US Mint hosted the official launch ceremony for the coin. This was held in Taylor Park in Orange, Virginia. The ceremony coincided with the 225th anniversary of Zachary Taylor’s birth and was part of Zachary Taylor Appreciation Day. A ceremonial coin pour took place along with special performances.


There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment