2009 Mint Set

The US Mint began selling the 2009 Mint Set on October 1, 2009. Many collectors have eagerly been awaiting this set, which is typically issued much earlier in the year. The set represents the largest Mint Set even issued, and contains special 2009 Lincoln Cents.

The set contains a whopping 36 different coins from the Philadelphia and Denver Mints. The US Mint has issued a record 18 different coin designs this year, amidst many programs featuring rotating designs. This has expanded the set and increased the price for collectors.

2009 mint setEach set contains eight 2009 Lincoln Cents (four designs, two mints), two Jefferson Nickels, two Roosevelt Dimes, twelve quarters (six designs, two mints), two Kennedy Half Dollars, two Native American Dollars, and eight Presidential Dollars (four designs, two mints). The sets are offered by the US Mint for $27.95 each.

The 2009 Lincoln Cents are struck with a composition of 95% copper, 3% zinc, and 2% tin. This special composition matches the original used in 1909. So far, sales of the set have outpaced the prior year set, which contained 28 coins.


There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment